Start talking about what you WANT!

I started this blog a few months ago, and I’m really enjoying it.

I love looking for ideas… thinking of things I can write about… having a lightbulb moment when I realize I have learnt something and maybe I could write a blog post about it.

It’s really exciting to me, and I’m enjoying the whole process.

The only thing that is making me a feel a bit crap is… ahem…

…my blog stats.

What I tell myself…

It doesn’t matter if people are looking at your blog or not! You’re not doing it to get thousands of followers and make huge amounts of money!

(Well, not yet šŸ™‚ My main aims are to try something new, and put down some ideas for a workshop series I’m planning to run.)

But every now and then, I check my stats, and end up feeling a bit down about them.

No views at all this week! What?!

One viewer from Germany?! Oh, hang on – that’s my brother šŸ™‚

Especially when I look at other blogs and see tons of comments, likes, and visitor numbers that are way, way higher than mine, and they’ve been writing for about a week…

(I’m not saying this to make you feel sorry for me or read my blog, by the way. I’m just trying to be honest!)

It’s okay!

Most of the time I don’t worry about it, but it does feel more worthwhile when I log on and find that someone has liked a post, or I’ve had ten views more than the previous week.

So…

So recently I decided to be bold, and actually say who I am, and put my blog address on my email signature.

I was worried at first that people would think I’m a douche…

Oh look at her, advertising her free wordpress blog like she’s famous…

And then I thought, FUCK it.

If I’m too scared to do an email signature, I’ll certainly never get to the places I want to be in life!

I’ll be holding myself back all the time, worrying about what other people think.

So now…

So now my (amateur) email signature proudly hosts my blog address, and a quote of the week, because I love quotes.

And you know what?

I have got more views on my blog!!! šŸ™‚

Well, duh!

So at this point you might be thinking:

Yes of course you have more views on your blog, if you’re telling people about it!

And you would be right to think that šŸ™‚

Sometimes it takes me a while to get things šŸ˜‰

But my point is that if you want something, sometimes you have to start telling people about it.

Maybe everyone knew this apart from me šŸ™‚

But hang on…

I don’t mean for situations like trying to conceive, or if you have a family member who is ill – those things are out of your control, and it would just be upsetting telling everyone in your vicinity.

I mean for those personal goals, or those dreams.

You might think they’re stupid, or weird, or insignificant.

But talking about them somehow sets off a spark – a chain reaction.

(I guess I’m poorly describing the butterfly effect, haha šŸ™‚ )

But wait – I’m being serious…

If you start talking about your wants and wishes, things start happening.Ā (Talking – not moaning, by the way. Very important.)

You’ve always wanted to climb Mount Kilimanjaro..?

Want to go to Australia but don’t have enough money..?

Want to set up a group in your community, but have no idea how to go about it..?

Want to raise some money for a charity you really respect..?

Or just want some goddamn sleep..?!

Start mentioning it to people, and before you know it, someone sends you a link to a Facebook group set up for the same thing…

…or an article they read about someone who did something similar,

…or introduces you to someone they think you might want to talk to,

…or offers to help in some way.

Not convinced?

Give it a try!

You’ve got nothing to lose. And I mean nothing.

But an absolute fuck ton to gain!

What’s the worst situation?

You tell people about a dream, and they laugh at you?

Bop them over the head! How dare they crush your dream! (Dream-crushers make my blood boil…)

It doesn’t end up happening?

At least you had the dream.

(When you stop dreaming, you gotta be worried, in my opinion.)

This actually reminds me of how I got into my acting group… I told a friend I was thinking about acting, even though I’d never done anything like it before, and a few weeks later, she saw a flyer for my current acting group… Cool!

So do some testing. Start telling people about your dreams.

And see what comes back.

Let me know what you put in motion! šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Start talking about what you WANT!

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with stats. I’m hooked to checking them on Flickr/Vimeo/YouTube. When I get a spike in views, or when strangers favourite my photos I feel great. But when something that I feel really proud of doesn’t get any love it really feels shit.

    I would love to not care about stats and likes at all. But I do. And I feel like it does encourage me to do more. I do try to use the likes and views as positive encouragement to keep pushing myself with my photos, although I know that other people’s opinions shouldn’t be the ONLY why I judge the pictures.

    But one thing I’ve definitely noticed is that taking a good photo is only half the battle to getting views and likes, promoting it and getting it in front of people is the other half. Posting it at the right time of day, giving it the right tags, getting it noticed by the right people….

    It’s a weird viscous circle. I’m generally modest and a little unsure of the stuff I do, and I don’t like people who are OVER confident about themselves, so I don’t want to come across like that. But then I see photos with 1000s of likes, which I know aren’t as good as mine, and I fee stupid for not having the faith in my own stuff.

    In the end I know I’m not actually making money from my photos or my blog, and I don’t want to piss of my friends by flooding their feeds with over self promotion. I also don’t want to feel like I’m pimping myself out just to try and feel better about myself.

    Every time I get a notification on my phone about a like, I feel great for a second or two, then I just want another one. When someone tells me in person that they’ve been loving my pictures from my trip, that does feel way better.

    But while I’m here I may as well self promote šŸ™‚
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/conradolson/
    https://instagram.com/conradolson
    https://vimeo.com/conradolson
    http://conradolson.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Conrad, thanks for your comment šŸ™‚

      That describes it perfectly – a love/hate relationship. Stats can bring you up or drag you down! I got a bit hooked checking mine, to the point where I had to write a note to myself to stop šŸ™‚ And yes, sometimes I write a post that I’m really proud of and then no one views it, and it does hurt a bit! A dose of self-awareness for us, maybe šŸ™‚

      I feel like blog stats are the new Facebook likes. But you’re right that they can also inspire you to do more great things. Sometimes when I haven’t posted for a while and then someone follows my blog, it makes me think, “Oh I should try to write something then, as they have bothered to follow me.”

      And yep, it does have a lot to do with when you post it etc. But for me, I know I can get too caught up in that kind of thing, so I try not to worry about it too much (otherwise I’d never post, worrying if somewhere in the world it was the “wrong” time to post, haha). I think having faith in your own stuff is important (as long as you’re proud of it, i.e. you feel you’ve done well). But having signed up to a few Blog 101 courses where they tell you to follow other blogs just to get people following yours (which seems “false” to me), I don’t worry too much about seeing other people’s stats. You can ask 300 of your friends to like something, but is that worth more than a single like from one follower that could lead to work/further projects/a hero/mentor liking your work…? Hmm.

      I think that blog stats are the “shiny” things that I am ultimately trying not to chase (i.e. happiness from other people). I heard an interview with Leo Babauta recently – who I love – and he said that as long as you keep focusing on doing great work, the rest will follow. I know you still need to promote sometimes, but the great work is the first and most important part. Perhaps we should write a note on our computers to remind us of our aims: mine are 1) to push myself and grow, 2) to test stuff out for my workshop, and 3) the likes and followers etc – in that order šŸ™‚

      Ha – I loved that you finished up with self-promotion! Nicely done, and v. smooth! šŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I usually do my photo editing late at night, which is not a good time to post them. So I usually do the editing, but then wait until the morning to post them. This has a couple of advantages, first it’s good for stats, but secondly it gives you time to look at the images again with some fresh perspective. I often change my mind, or spot something else I’d like to do quickly before I post them.

    I know Jen often leaves her posts in the drafts folder for a while before she posts them, for the same reason.

    Like

  3. Love your writing hon, it’s readable and addictive. But turn the stats OFF! Don’t worry about it at all, focus on transferring your thoughts to paper (or keyboard).

    I don’t write a blog but running a business worked for me like that, just do a great job, serve your readers (or customers well), don’t be afraid to self-promote a bit but look at the stats later. Great job girlie. We want more. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks hon. You’re a huge inspiration to me, so this means a lot! šŸ™‚ A lovely message – and encouragement – to read. I’ll use your words for my first book haha – “readable and addictive” – I love it! šŸ™‚ Okay, I’ll let you know how I get on with weaning myself off the stats… šŸ™‚ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

