How to be luckier

This is going to be one of those annoying posts where I say How can you do this?, and then tell you that it’s all in your head.

No, I’m serious! I’m afraid it is one of those posts.

But like a lot of things, it really does make a huge difference if you change what’s going on in your head.

I would say that I’m a pretty lucky person. Lucky things happen to me.

I have won contests in the past, and more often than not, things work out just the way they were supposed to.

I don’t mean that arrogantly. I’ve also had my share of ups and downs, crappy days, and things going wrong.

But I’m still lucky.

Why? Because I see myself as lucky!

Let me give you some examples:

About a month ago, I was starting to think seriously about this blog and having more positivity in my life. I was mulling over what the blog would be called, and I kept coming back to positivity.

Later the same week, I was taking the paper recycling down to the bins in our building. Normally my boyfriend does this on his way to work, but he hadn’t that morning, and I wanted to surprise him (he moans that I don’t do it very often… he kind of has a point).

So I go down to the recycling bins to toss the cardboard. At the top of the bin, I see a big, glossy coffee table book about home decorating. I think to myself, What a shame! Someone tossed this gorgeous book, rather than seeing if someone else could get some use out of it? (At least they recycled it. I know.)

So I pick up the coffee table book… and underneath it are about 20 books… on positivity! I couldn’t believe it. I grabbed them as quick as I could, and rushed back up to the apartment with my arms full! (I’m not sure if that’s theft or not. Hopefully not!)

Coincidence? Yes, of course. But I also like to think of it as luck 🙂

See – I told you I was lucky!

And just after that…

I signed up for an “Inspiration Pass” from Vancouver library over two years ago.

It’s a pass that gives you free access for two weeks to a whole load of attractions across Vancouver. It’s valid for four people, and it covers everything from opera and ballet, to museums and animal sanctuaries, to pitch ‘n’ putt and fitness centres, and many other activities. I worked out that using mine saved me and my partner $400 (and I wasn’t even able to visit all the attractions) – so for a family of four, you’re looking at big savings.

As you can imagine, this pass is very popular! And there are a limited number in circulation. I put my name down in 2013, and was one of thousands of people to do so.

So when do you think my Inspiration Pass arrived? The day before I left my full-time, permanent job – i.e. when I had tons of free time! 🙂

Someone was looking down on me that day! If I’d have got the pass a couple of weeks earlier, I would have barely had the time (or energy) to use it, as I was working long hours in a stressful job.

Hallelujah!

I could go on. But the point is, I believe I’m lucky – so I am.

More importantly – do you think you’re lucky?

If you think you are, you probably are.

And if you think you’re not, I’m afraid to say that you are most certainly not.

People aren’t born lucky. They just have a viewpoint – one that says, I am lucky!

But here’s the catch…

I’m not talking about those moments when you rush round the corner and the bus is just pulling off. That happens to everyone.

Or winning the lottery.

I just mean keeping an eye out for those moments when you are lucky. Or realizing that if something doesn’t turn out quite the way you expected, it means something better is around the corner.

I had planned to go to Australia after my first year in Canada. I was just coming up to 31, the deadline for when you can apply for the particular visa I wanted. I put a note in my calendar to apply for it the day before my 31st birthday. So cunning, I thought!

Nu-uh. Sadly not. I had completely forgotten that although Australia is ~13 hours ahead of the UK, that means it is 21 hours ahead of Vancouver! So I missed the visa. By about 5 hours 😦 I was pretty gutted. In fact, I felt really down for the whole of the following week.

But fast forward a few months, and I meet my boyfriend… the guy I love and want to spend the rest of my life with. If I’d had been going to Australia, it would have been a very difficult decision – leave him, or leave the visa?

So it all worked out okay in the end!

My advice is…

Think you are lucky. Believe you are lucky. Know you are lucky.

And you will be.

Guaranteed.

Start looking out for ways you are lucky in your life. And ignore the ways you’re not – that just means it wasn’t the right time just yet.

Are you with me on this one?!

(Oh, and one more thing – how do I win contests…?

– I enter them! 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “How to be luckier

Leave a Reply

